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You will NOT receive a paper renewal RENE:
form. This is your ONLY NOTICE of DU;,?AL‘S
renaewal. .

12.1.2015

SO0 SW lackson, Rim. 564-5, Topeka, KS o612

It 15 license renewal time for
dentists and dental hygienists who
have odd-rumbered licenses. Tnder
Kansas law, odd-numbered licensees
must renew their licenses in odd-
numbered vears.  Additionally, the
odd-numbered licensees must renew
by December 1, 2013, The license
renewal will be valid for 2 years.

Like last year, the license re-
newal process will be different. The
Board will no longer mail pre-
populated renewal forms and retum
envelopes to the odd-numbered licen-
sees. Instead, each odd-numbered li-
censee will receive a yellow posteard
renewal notification that appears
above.

When you receive the posteard,
vou may etther go to the Board' s web-
site to renew onlme or use a blank
form to print and mail with the comrect
renewal fee. Please make sure that
vou have a current mailing address on
file.  Again, no other renewal forms
will be matled.

If you are retired and wish to
maintain a retred status, yvou will still
have to fill out a form Renewing in
retired status online will cost $3. For
those renewing 1in retwed status on the
paper form, there will be no cost. The
online renewal portal and the printable
paper form will be on the Board’s
website (www.dental ks gov),
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Continuing Education For License Renewals

Under K AR 714-1(b),

each dentist licensee must have at
least 60 hours of continuing dental
education courses.  Further, each
dentist licensee who holds a spe-
clalist certificate must ensure that at
least 40 of the 60 hours of continu-
ing dental education are in courses
in the specialty for which the licen-
see holds a specialist certificate.
Each required course hour shall
have been completed in the 24-
month pernod immediately preced-
ing the date of expiration of the li-
CENSE.

Tnder EAE. 714-1(c),
each dental hygienist licensee must
have at least 20 hours of continuing
dental education courses. Each re-

Jarrod Jones, D.D.5.,
Appointed to Board

At itz regularly  scheduled
public meeting held in Topeka on Fri-
day, August 9, 2013, the Board wel-
comed its newest dentist member, Jar-
tod Jones, D.D.S.  Dr Jarrad Jones
and his hrothet, Paul Jones, D.D.S.,
own and operate Cedar Lodge Dental
i1 Hays, Kansas.

Appointed by  Gowvernor
Brownhack to succeed Foger Stevens,
DD5, as a Member-at-Large, Dr.
Tarrod Jones will serve a 4-year term.
Under the Kansas Dental Practices
Act, the Board consists of stz resident
dentists, two resident dental hygien-
ists, and one public member. Board
memmbers serve 4-year terms up to a
maximum of two terms.  Dr. Jones
looks forward to his Board term.

quired course hour shall have
been completed in the 24-month
period immediately preceding the
date of expiration of the license.
Dentists and dental hy-
gienists who have question s about
whether courses qualify for credit
are encouraged to review E A R
71-4-2, which outlines the general
standards that are used by the
Board 1n  determining  which
courses will cqualify for continu-
ing dental education credits,
Eandom audits of continu-
ing dental education courses
begin 1n February of each vear
Tnless chosen for a random audit,
licensees are not required to sub-
mit copies of any continuing den-

tal education certificates or a
list of the continuing education
courses talken. If chosen for an
audit, licenszees will be re-
quired to submit certificates.

CONTINUNG

EDUCATION

Sedation Permit Renewals

Al dentists wath an  odd-
numbered license who hold a seda-
tion permit will be required to renew
the sedation permit at the samne time
as the dental license.

Sedation permits will only
he avalahle for renewal on a paper
fortrn.  The Board office will send
paper renewal forms for sedation
pertnits. The sedation permit renew-
al forms will arrive on a turguoise-
colored paper in the mail at the most
current matling address on file.

Level I permit holders must
hawve stz hours of contimuing educa-
tion limnited to sedation, which are in
addition to the conthumg education
hours required to renew the dentist’s
license.

Level II permit holders
st hawve eight hours of continug-
ing education limited to sedation
and shall mclude the complica-
tions associated wath parenteral
conscious  sedation  and  therw
management. These hours are in
addition to the continuing educa-
tion hours regquired to renew the
dentist’s license.

Level III pertrut holders
st have eight hours of continu-
ing education limited to sedation
and shall mclude the complica-
tions associated with awways and
intravenous  sedation and thes
management. These hours are in
addition to the continung educa-
tion hours required to renew the
dentist’s license.
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Frequently Asked Question: Can | practice without completing my license renewal requirements?
Answer: No. You must have a license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene.

BCLS Card Reminder

& oquick reminder that
all renewing licensees will be
required to have a current
BCLS card pror to renewing
the license,

Future Board Kansas Dental Well-
Meetings Being Program
Friday, Movember &, 2013 For assistance with drg, alco-
Friday, January 31, 2014 hol, and other personal problems, you
Fﬂda;.r April 25 ’2014 may contact John Childers, Heart of

America Professional Wetworl, 6405
_ _ Metcalf Avenue, J3uite 502, Owerland
All meetings held in Topeka.  pae Kansas 66202 0r 917 236-7575.
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